Sunday, May 17, 2009

FEMA advisory for Indianapolis - INDIANA

Fri, 15 May 2009 10:34:16 -0500

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- Free legal advice and referrals are available for anyone affected by the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding from March 8-14. To be eligible for the legal assistance, individuals must live in one of the 16 counties designated for FEMA Individual Assistance programs, and need legal assistance as a direct result of the severe storms and flooding. The 16 counties covered by the declaration are: Allen, Carroll, Daviess, DeKalb, Fulton, Jasper, Kosciusko, Lake, Lawrence, LaPorte, Marshall, Noble, Pulaski, St. Joseph, White and Whitley.

Nearly 900 Indiana residents have applied for disaster assistance to date and more than $1.4 million has been approved for eligible applicants. Officials want to make sure no one is overlooked.

Officials from the Indiana Department of Homeland Security (IDHS) and Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that disaster assistance has been made available for three more Indiana counties to help residents recover from the effects of the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding of March 8 – 14. The additional counties are: Daviess, Lawrence and St. Joseph.

Three weeks after President Obama issued a major disaster declaration for Indiana, nearly than $1.6 Million in disaster assistance grants and loans have been approved. Federal and state recovery officials announced that today a total of 972 residents have applied for disaster assistance in the 16 designated Indiana counties.

No comments:

Blog Archive